top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRin Hoshigumo

Where It All Began


I dreamed of Sarah, the main character of The Servants Of Need, in this house, in which my aunt lived with her family. My mother and I were visiting from England, where we were then resident. It was during the Christmas holidays of '87.

I'd spent the summer holidays of '85, when I was 10, there, with my mother and the son of her then-boyfriend. The summer of '85 had been a scorcher and I spent a lot of time in the pool with my cousins and the son of my ma's boyfriend.

Now, it was winter, my cousins were older and the pool was a pond.

I went back there in the summer of 2018, shortly before I published the first edition of The Nighttide Of Summerlong, and that's when I took the photograph with which I made the video. My aunt no longer lives there and my cousins are adults. The older one has a family of his own.

There are other places in Canada that I'm currently scouting as locations for future works. I've been resident here since 2012 and the land feels less new to me. However, I have less of an emotional attachment to it as I came here as an adult and didn't grow up here.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page